Sad Power Breakfast

Delicious breakfast of champions. Low-fat and thus sad champions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As a somewhat voluptuous lady, I’ll often yo-yo between beach bod and beached whale bod. As of late, I’ve spent a lot of time in the latter category, happily stuffing my (blow) hole with whatever I please. For over a year I’ve carried on this way, and now I’ve got my come-uppance.

It’s not so bad, my life of high-powered torturous workouts (see the 6-pack Promise iPod app for reference of my Monday afternoons). I feel energetic, lithe, alive. But 5 days a week minimum I have some very sad brefaxes.

I have no problem giving in to lunch and dinners of grilled fishies, quinoa, delicious sticky and sprouted brown rice and the rest of the health riff raff. But breakfast! Oh, how I mourn thee:  creamy scrambled eggs with crisp buttered toast, eggs Benedict, wafflen and breakfast mimosas- good brefasses, as many know about me, is one of the few things that will help me happily leave my bed.

So here I share my recipe for the Sad Power Breakfast- the smoky and peppery veggies are in direct protest of being both light and healthy. It was the first and best I could do with minimal experience in the low-fat, low-cal, high protein arena.

Sad Power Breakfast:

1 good quality nonstick pan
1 large egg + 1 egg white
1/8 thinly sliced red onion
1/2 thinly sliced green or red pepper

salt and pepper

Grapeseed oil in a vaporizer or cooking spray.

1/2 sweet potato sliced thin and roasted with 1 tsp of grapeseed oil, rosemary and smoked paprika, @ 400 degrees for 30 minutes; salted and peppered to taste.

Direction:

Spray your pan with your oil spray if you have little faith in your technology.
Turn the heat to medium high and add about 1/8 cup of water.
When water is simmering add the egg and the egg white to the pan. Cook to desired doneness. As the water evaporates your egg may fry a little, which isn’t the worst, provided you can still gently remove it from the pan.

Spray your pan with a couple of pumps of grapeseed oil. To the pan, add the onion and pepper. Cook over very high heat for about 2-3 minutes, depending on how hot you dare to crank your heat. Toss your pan often to avoid burning- you want them to taste slightly smokey, not burnt.

Eat your brefax unceremoniously, and remind yourself that at least sometimes, food must be fuel, and not therapy.

