Grilled Herbed Haloumi

Grilled Cheese!

I’m sorry do you not?

Soundtrack: Young Buck- Get Buck

Everyone that has tried grilled haloumi loves it: from the carnival crowd in Brazil who gather at street vendors; to your friend Niki; to the elderly stranger in the grocery store who offered to take me to her home to teach me how to make it (I am still debating the wisdom of attending “Ellie’s” home, but cannot deny the offer to learn to make cheese is tempting). It is safe to say that if you do not, you are sub-human. It stays together at high heat, earning coveted tasty-grill scars.

Not much to it:

400-500 g of haloumi
2 tbsp each of grapeseed and olive oil
3 tsp of thyme
2 tsp of minced mint
2 tsp of minced garlic
1 tsp of pepper

Mix it all together and brush all ova.
They’re fairly low maintenance (unlike your girlfriend).
Grill at medium to high heat, turning after you achieve lovely grill scars.

Eat them right away to benefit from a little bit of gooey texture, or lose out to sharks such as myself.

X
Killer Squid.

Also. If I ever do learn how to make haloumi under “Ellie’s” wise tutelage, I will update all our beloved readers.

