Gateau avec chapeau de Deni

Be forewarned: this cake is not for baby-time.

It was the result of an attempt to recreate a cake eaten almost daily in Paris when my girlfriend discovered she lived right above a bakery. She sent me a picture and we referred to this new object of her affection (the boys in Paris were not comparable to the cake) as her gateau avec chapeau.

Let me explain the cake to you: an angel type cake, called genoise, sandwiched by two layers of cream and fruit, and encased in crepes. Sound difficult? Well its even harder to try to make, when your girlfriend can’t be pressed for details: “I don’t know what its called or what’s in it- it just tastes f**king amazing. Its this amazing cake. Covered in a crepe. Do you know that I live on top of a bakery? I don’t even have to know what its called. All I have to do is saunter downstairs and point. I’m going to be 1000 pounds. Its not like I can stop passing by. Its downstairs.”

Because I love my friend and trust her taste, I thought it would be a good idea to find this recipe and make it for us when she returned so that she would be less sad about the loss of her bakery.

After consulting a friend who is Parisian by birth, I googled the shit out of every variant of the term ‘crepe-cake’ and finally, there it was. I’ve included the link below.

I must have a culinary horse-shoe up my arse, because while drinking champagne we pulled up the recipe (which is in French I should add, should you be intending to click it), decided we should halve it, and just convert the grams to ounces along the way. Thank ye gods that we are both high-functioning drinkers, because there were so many places we almost went wrong but instead ended up with a masterpiece.

Now- since I am as generous as I am beautiful, here is the recipe, avec translation, avec the conversions for those who bake without a scale:

Gateau avec Chapeau de Deni*:

Serves 2-6

Genoise:

2 eggs, separated
2.21 ounces of sugar
1.36 ounces of flour
1/4 pack of dry yeast

Crepes:

2 eggs
275 mL milk
1 tbsp of sugar
3/4 cup of flour
1 tbsp of melted butter
oil for your crepe pan

Filling:

275 grams of mascarpone (here you will be okay with grams since that is how cheese is sold)
6 tbsp of cream
3 ounces of condensed milk
the juice of 1/4 lemon
1 tsp of vanilla extract
16 ounces of berries

Genoise:
Preheat the oven to 356 F. Whip the eggs and a pinch of salt into fairly stiff peaks. Beat the yolks with the sugar, then flour, then the yeast. Fold the whites into the yolks and mix well. Pour into a greased and floured cake pan, and bake for about 18 minutes, using the toothpick test**.

Remove and cool.

Crepes:
Mix everything but the butter well. Add a bit of flour if it is too runny. Grease your pan or griddle. Add the butter to the batter and mix.
To make a crepe you will put a small ladle of batter into the pan and swirl it around to make it as thin as possible. Before the bottom cooks you can also use the ladle to swirl it around. Make four large and thin crepes

Filling:

Mix everything in order. Mash the berries as much as you can.
Chill.

Assembly:

Lay down the four crepes so that they leave no space between them, and so that you can cover both the bottom and the top of the cake with them.
Spread about 1 inch of cake sized filling on the crepes. Top with the cake, and then spread more filling on top. Fold the crepes over the top, covering the top completely.

Chill, covered with plastic wrap for two to three hours.

This will give you time tidy the kitchen that you’ve likely completely destroyed and relax your wound up mixing arm.

Eat. Acknowledge that some things are worth the work.

 

 

http://www.lesfoodies.com/toons/recette/gateau-de-crepe

*I am allowed to rename the cake since we put a considerable amount of love and champagne into making it, and the recipe is far from exactly as it appears/2. However, the cake is officially ‘gateau de crepe’ on the website we referenced.

**You should know this already, if you’re reading this post because I expressly said, no baby-time. Anyway, a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.

